there are 4 main aspects involved with maintaining and administering a zone at ureka:
each of these topics is covered below in it's own section:
every zone will have slightly different needs, according to the intentions behind their creation. you can define your intentions by writing them in your zone's description, along with any rules you wish to implement within the zone, such as 'no advertising whatsoever', or whatever other policy you decide upon.
the privacy levels can be changed by clicking the 'edit this zone' button on your zone's homepage and then clicking the 'access' tab at the top of that page.
the homepage of the zone can be customised by adding/removing page elements, dragging them to new locations and editing their parameters. this allows you to create a particular combination of types of information on your homepage that is to your preference. to add new page elements (page elements are the boxes you see on zone homepages that contain information and content items), just click the 'add page elements' button at the top of the homepage and choose the elements you wish to add. parameter lists for each page element can be found by hovering your pointer over the top bar of specific page elements and then by clicking the 'cog' symbol that appears at the top-right side of that bar.
every item that is added to ureka is contained by either a co-creator's own profile or by a zone. this means that any video, thought, page, digital file or other content item can be assigned to be contained by a zone. to change the container for an item simply click the 'edit' link for the content item you wish to change and then locate/change the 'container' field on the resulting 'edit' page - then click 'save'. changing the container of an item will relocate the item in the site so that it appears within the new container (either a zone or your co-creator profile). this allows items that you add to ureka to be moved around inside the site as you prefer.
as a zone administrator you can delete content that has been added to your zone or re-assign it's container so that it is not longer part of your zone but is not completely deleted. assigning the item back to it's creator's profile is advisable in many cases, rather than deleting the item completely. as administrator you can also edit content items, but again, do this CAREFULLY to avoid annoying other co-creators and to avoid censoring their expression. it is always best to advise co-creators that you are editing their items in your zone before making the edits, to ensure they concur, since they always have the option of removing the item from your zone instead.
new members will come to your zone if they are interested in participating and they can do so by simply clicking a 'joyn this zone' button in an appropriate place in the site. friends of any co-creator can also be manually invited to zones by clicking the 'invite friends' button at the top of the zone homepage. invited friends will be informed of the invitation, which they can then either accept or reject.
membership of your zone can also be revoked for your own reasons via the list of zone members. when viewing a member that you wish to remove, simply click the appropriate link next to their name to do so.
zones may have one or multiple administrators. to add additional administrators to your zone, simply view the list of members and click the appropriate link next to their name to do so.
if you wish to pass the title of administrator to another co-creator and no longer wish to be an administrator, you can do so by visiting the zone's 'edit' page, clicking the 'access' tab and then choosing which co-creator to give the administrator role to via the 'owner' dropdown at the bottom of the page.